Home > Public Service > I Ask Ron Paul: Mises, Hayek, or Rothbard?

I Ask Ron Paul: Mises, Hayek, or Rothbard?

Ron Paul, candidate for president in 2012 and one of the very few politicians I have ever legitimately liked, made a campaign stop in St. Cloud, Minnesota today.  Thanks to a generous invitation from a friend of mine, I was able to join a small group of supporters and actually meet Dr. Paul. 

I have been following his career in Congress for a long time, and I know he is the only national politician paying any attention to the Austrian school of economics. 

If I asked any other politician “Mises, Hayek, or Rothbard?” I am sure I would be greeted with a blank stare.  Ron Paul on the other hand would likely have something interesting to say.  So I have always wanted to ask him, just to see how he would handle it.

Today I got that chance.

Paul’s response: “Mises.”  (Yes!  I’ve always been a Mises man myself.)

But he went on:

“Mises, but Rothbard was the one I knew the best.  I also had lunch with Hayek once.  Of course, in terms of approach to communication and connecting with the common person, I have always liked Leonard Read.”

Well, I’d say he’s wrapped up my vote.

  1. AE Hall
    August 31, 2012 at 11:32 PM

    I like Leonard Read, I really do. But the man must be careful some of the language he uses. I saw him equate people who believe in welfare as being childish and it really bothered me. This was a couple weeks ago.

    • consentient
      November 16, 2012 at 5:31 PM

      I’ve not encountered Leonard Read – I’m going to go read some of his stuff now.

      But how can you defend welfare? It’s bribery with stolen money, plain and simple!

  1. November 25, 2011 at 10:17 AM

Leave a comment