Home > Facts and Figures, Legal Issues, Solution-Problem > I’m back from vacation; here are a few interesting posts for your enjoyment

I’m back from vacation; here are a few interesting posts for your enjoyment

You may have noticed a hiatus on this blog that was somewhat longer than normal.  I was on vacation in lovely Costa Rica with my lovely wife (since my nom de plume is Socrates, I shall refer to her as Xanthippe).  To prove it, I took a picture of a politician that I snapped outside of my hotel in Tamarindo.  I believe her name is Nancy:

For the biologically curious, that’s actually a howler monkey.  Or in Spanish a mono aullador.

Anyway, to kick off my triumphant return, I’m going to give you a three for one deal of posts that I found infuriating, depressing, and silly.  See if you can put them in order!

First, in court case in Colorado, the FDA is claiming jurisdiction over an individual person’s stem cells.

In another outrageous power-grab, FDA says your own stem cells are drugs—and stem cell therapy is interstate commerce because it affects the bottom line of FDA-approved drugs in other states!

…The Centeno-Schultz Medical Clinic takes your blood and bone marrow, puts it into a centrifuge machine that separates the stem cells, and cultures it to get more cells before a doctor puts them back in your body to repair damaged tissue. The FDA states that when the stem cells are cultured, they become FDA-regulated drugs. The clinic has argued numerous times that stem cells aren’t drugs because they are components of the patient’s bone marrow from his or her own body.

How long before the FDA asserts jurisdiction over my white blood cells?

Secondly, and in completely unrelated news, the bell continues tolling the tragic death of the anti-war left.  It seems as though a majority of self-identified liberal Democrats now support keeping Guantanamo open as well as the use of drones for targeted killings.  At the rate they’re going, I give them until 2014 before they re-invade Iraq.

Unless of course “their guy” is no longer in office, in which case they will heartily disapprove. I have spoken of the demise of the anti-war left before: here, here, here, and here.

It is exactly this kind of blatant partisan hackery that makes me say that “partisanship is the first resort of the feeble mind.”  Perhaps I should copyright that…

And finally, in another completely unrelated topic, talentless pop-“artist” Shepard Fairey, the hack behind the ubiquitous Obama-Hope posters, pleaded guilty to criminal charges. But get this, the criminal charges stemmed from fraud and misconduct related to the civil suit that he himself filed against the AP.

Shepard Fairey fails so hard he can’t even sue people right.

Fairey “went to extreme lengths to obtain an unfair and illegal advantage in his civil litigation, creating fake documents and destroying others in an effort to subvert the civil discovery process,” US Attorney [Preet] Bharara said in a statement…

Fairey sued AP in 2009, seeking a ruling that his poster didn’t infringe the copyright because his use of the photograph was protected by “fair use.” The news organisation countersued.

Throw the book at him.

And welcome back to me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

